IBREAM Directors

Professor Robert Millar. Edinburgh, UKProfessor Robert (Bob) Millar grew up in Zimbabwe where he developed a passion for African wildlife and studied Zoology, Botany and Chemistry at the University of the then Rhodesia and Nyasaland. He then obtained a masters in Biochemistry in London and a PhD on the reproductive biology of the hyrax in Liverpool before moving into human biomedicical research at the University of Cape Town where he became Professor ad hominem. He then became  Director of the MRC Human Reproductive Sciences Unit, UK which comprises over 100 researchers and attracts about £5 million annual funding. Since April 2011, he is the Director of the Mammal Research Institute in Pretoria.
Dr Mervyn Jacobson. Melbourne, Australia Dr. Jacobson, is a legally qualified Medical Practitioner. He has more than 35 years experience in developing new medical technology and in bringing new medical and biomedical goods and services to the market, working with biotechnology enterprises in Australia, UK, Switzerland, USA, Canada, Mexico and China. In 1989, he co-founded GeneType AG, the research start-up that subsequently led to the formation of Genetic Technologies Limited. In February 2000, he was appointed by the Governor of Colorado to the Governor’s Advisory Council in Biotechnology. He was also a founding Director of the Colorado Biotechnology Association and XY, Inc., a biotechnology company he co-founded with Colorado State University in Colorado. Recently he has taken on the role of Chairman of the wolf sanctuary W.O.L.F. which is also based in Colorado. Dr. Jacobson currently serves as a consultant to GTG, as its Vice President of Global Licensing and Intellectual Property. He also serves as CEO of ImmunAid Ltd, which is now developing a new treatment strategy for cancer patients, based on the anti-cancer treatment being administered at specific times, linked to subtle variations within the immune system.
His passion for music has driven him to also take an active role, as Co-Chair, of the Melbourne City Opera.

Advisory Board

Prof Elissa Cameron (SA)
Prof Ben Colenbrander (NL)
Roger Collinson (SA) Dr. Fredrik Dalerum (SA)
Prof Wenche Farstad (NO) Prof Andre Ganswindt (SA)
Prof Eric Harley (SA) Dr Thomas Hildebrandt (DE)
Dr Henry Jabbour (UK) Dr Inza Kone (CI)
Dr Linda Penfold (USA) Dr Monique Paris (NL/Aus)
Mr Rob Thomas (UK) Prof Alan Trounson (Aus/USA)
Prof Ian Wilmut (UK) Dr Yirmed Demeke (Ethiopia)